University of Alberta
Thank you for visiting. This page is in the process of being updated. Please check back soon.

IT Ambassador Award


The University of Alberta is committed to providing an excellent information technology (IT) environment that facilitates the University's research, teaching, and administration agendas, to the benefit of faculty, staff and students. In recognition of the critical role that IT professionals play in making this a reality, the Office of the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Information Services & Technology) has created the Information Technology Ambassador Award. This award is intended to annually recognize one academic or non-academic person for demonstrating outstanding technology leadership to their unit and their contributions to the campus community.


A nominee must be or have been actively involved in information technology at the University of Alberta. The nominee must have been an employee of the University of Alberta as of December 31 of the previous calendar year.


An award nomination must come from the Chair, Dean, or Director of the nominee's unit.


One award will be presented annually. Award recipients will be announced in mid-June, and a formal presentation will be made in mid-July.


A successful nominee will have demonstrated outstanding leadership to their department, faculty, or unit and made contributions to the campus. Some factors that might be relevant in a letter of support include:

  • Achievement requiring significant professional development and acquisition of new skills;
  • Provide sense of purpose, vision, and mission while planning and implementing strategies in the best interest of the UofA;
  • Provide expertise that adds value to projects/operations;
  • Fostering a supportive and collegial team environment;
  • Extraordinary initiative in the adoption of technology; and
  • Relationship building both within and outside of the unit/University.


The nominator provides a letter with two parts:

  1. Name, title, and unit of the nominee; name, title, and unit of the nominator.
  2. A letter of no more than 1500 words detailing the strength of the nominee's case.

The nomination must be submitted as an email message containing the nomination letter as a PDF file.

Nominations will be accepted until 4:00 pm on May 26, 2016. A selection committee chaired by the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Information Services & Technology) will decide on the awardee.

If you have questions or a nomination to submit, please contact Emily Challons, (780) 492-4767, or email .

Previous Award Winners

  • 2015: Robert Brennan from the Augustana Campus.
  • 2014: Lester Lim from the Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine.
  • 2013: Jeff Rawlings from the Faculty of Arts.
  • 2012: Eleni Stroulia from the Department of Computing Science.
  • 2011: Jennifer Branch-Mueller from the Faculty of Education and Josh Ryder from the Augustana Campus.
  • 2010: Wendy Caplan from the Faculty of Nursing and Brett Finch from the Faculty of Agriculture, Life and Environmental Sciences (ALES).