University of Alberta
Thank you for visiting. This page is in the process of being updated. Please check back soon.

Information Technology Client Service Award


The University of Alberta is committed to providing an excellent information technology (IT) environment that facilitates the University's research, teaching, and administration agendas, to the benefit of faculty, staff and students. In recognition of the critical role that IT professionals play in making this a reality, the Office of the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Information Services & Technology) has created the Information Technology Client Service Award. This award will annually recognize one non-academic staff member or group who has provided a high quality of service to a Faculty/Unit/Department.


The nominee(s) must have been an employee of the University of Alberta as of December 31 of the previous calendar year.


An award nomination can come from any member of the campus community.


One award will be presented annually. Award recipients will be announced in mid-June, and a formal presentation will be made in mid-July.


A successful nominee will have demonstrated some of the following factors:

  • Improve value and efficiency of services;
  • Provide a high quality of service to customers improving the customer experience;
  • Anticipate client needs and potential problems;
  • Finding an innovate and cost effective method to performing day to day operations; and
  • Role model to other units.


The nominator provides a letter with two parts:

  1. Name, title, and unit of the nominee(s); name, title, and unit of the nominator.
  2. A letter of no more than 1500 words detailing the strength of the nominee's case.

The nomination must be submitted as an email message containing the nomination letter as a PDF file.

Nominations will be accepted until 4:00 pm on May 26, 2016. A selection committee chaired by the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Information Services & Technology) will decide on the awardee.

If you have questions or a nomination to submit, please contact Emily Challons, (780) 492-4767, or email .

Previous Award Winners

  • 2015: The Competency-Based Assessment (CBAS) Team from the Department of Family Medicine in the Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry. Members of CBAS include: Mirella Chiodo, Dr. Mike Donoff, Dr. Paul Humphries, Dr. Fred Janke, Kay Kovithavongs, John Chmelicek, Dr. Darren Nichols, Dr. Shelley Ross, Dr. Shirley Schipper