University of Alberta
Thank you for visiting. This page is in the process of being updated. Please check back soon.

Information Technology Unsung Hero Awards


The University of Alberta is committed to providing an excellent information technology (IT) environment that facilitates the University's research, teaching, and administration agendas, to the benefit of faculty, staff and students. In recognition of the critical role that IT professionals play in making this a reality, the Office of the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Information Technology) is establishing the Information Technology Unsung Hero Awards. This award is intended to annually recognize a non-academic staff member who has made a significant and largely unrecognized contribution to the quality of the IT environment offered by a department/faculty/unit or to the campus.


The nominee must have been an employee of the University of Alberta as of December 31 of the previous calendar year.


An award nomination must come from a director supervisor of the nominee (such as APO, Associate Chair, Chair, Dean, Director).


Two awards will be presented annually. Award recipients will be announced in mid-June, and a formal presentation will be made in mid-July.


A successful nominee will have made a significant and largely unrecognized contribution to the quality of the IT environment offered by a department/faculty/unit or to the campus. Some examples of possible contributions towards a nomination:

  • Going well above and beyond the requirements of a job without fan-fare;
  • Sustained commitment to IT excellence;
  • Demonstrates reliability, perseverance, focus and exemplary IT service within a unity;
  • Providing mentorship by sharing knowledge and job-related skills; and
  • Takes initiative to identify tasks for completion and find solutions to problems.


The nominator provides a letter with two parts:

  1. Name, title, and unit of the nominee; name, title, and unit of the nominator.
  2. A letter of no more than 1500 words detailing the strength of the nominee's case.

The nomination must be submitted as an email message containing the nomination letter as a PDF file.

Nominations will be accepted until 4:00 pm on May 26, 2016. A selection committee chaired by the Vice-Provost and Associate Vice-President (Information Services & Technology) will decide on the awardees.

If you have questions or a nomination to submit, please contact Emily Challons, (780) 492-4767, or email .

Previous Award Winners

  • 2015: Goetz Dapp from the Canadian Centre for Welding and Joining and Darcy Frank from Campus Saint Jean
  • 2014: Lorne Leclair from the Department of Biological Sciences and Grant Wang from the Faculty of Arts
  • 2013: Yan Chen from AIS and Jon Martin from the Department of Computing Science
  • 2012: Lou Omerzu from the Department of Psychology
  • 2011: Vlad Bado from the Faculty of Education and Nuno Luzio from the School of Native Studies
  • 2010: Jenny Altarejos from the Center for Health Evidence, Lester Lim from the Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine, and Alex Schwarzer from the Arts Resource Centre in the Faculty of Arts